President Kim Jae-Yeol becomes IOC member

Nominations for IOC Executive Board
Final elections to be held next month in Mumbai
Three Korean IOC members on the verge

International Ice Skating Union (ISU) President Kim Jae-yeol (55-photo) has been nominated for a seat on the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

In announcing the results of its Executive Board on Monday, the IOC said it was recommending eight candidates for IOC membership, including Kim.

There are four men and four women. The nominees will be voted on by the IOC Session in Mumbai, India, from October 15-17. Lee’s election is a virtual certainty, as candidates nominated by the Executive Board have rarely been defeated in a General Assembly vote.

The nominated candidates had previously gone through a three-stage process, including a dossier review, an ethics commission verification, 카지노사이트 and a nominations commission.

The maximum number of IOC members is 115. It consists of individual members (up to 70), National Olympic Committee (NOC) representatives, International Federation (IF) representatives, and Athlete Members (up to 15 each).

As of Tuesday, there were 99 active members. As the head of the ISU, Kim is a candidate for the IF representative position.

Kim has been a prominent figure in winter sports. He was president of the Korea Ice Sports Federation and headed the South Korean team at the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics.

He was vice president of the PyeongChang 2018 Organizing Committee, a member of the IOC Coordination Commission for the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics, 온라인카지노 and a member of the ISU Executive Board.

In June last year, he became the first non-European to be elected ISU President. Currently, there are 12 IOC members from summer Olympic IFs, but only one from winter Olympic sports, International Bobsleigh and Keleton Federation (IBSF) President Ivo Periani, who is Italian.

If Kim is elected to the IOC at next month’s Session, he will become the 12th South Korean to ever serve on the IOC.

South Korea will have three active IOC members, joining Yoo Seung-min (41), president of the Korea Table Tennis Association, and Lee Ki-heung (68), president of the Korean Sports Federation.

The late Samsung founder Lee Kun-hee, late IOC Vice President Kim Yong-yong, and former Doosan Group Chairman Park Yong-sung served during the same period from 2002-2005.

“The eight candidates for IOC membership have a strong love of sport and a belief in the Olympic spirit,” said IOC President Thomas Bach. 카지노사이트존

“Their experience and expertise in their respective fields will contribute significantly to the development of the IOC.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *