A closed-door interview with the Evaluation Committee of the Korean Olympic Committee (KOC), the first gateway to the selection of Korean candidates for the International Olympic Committee (IOC), took place on Tuesday at the Olympic Parktel in Bangdong, Songpa-gu, Seoul The six candidates – Lee Dae-hoon (31) in taekwondo, Kim Yeon-kyung (35) in volleyball, Jin Jong-oh (44) in shooting, Kim So-young (31) in badminton, Park In-bee (35) in golf and Oh Jin-hyuk (41) in archery – participated in individual in-depth interviews from 1:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. on the same day Prior to the interviews, the candidates met with the press to introduce themselves and their strengths as IOC Athletes, and then went straight into the interview room to answer questions from the panel The panel was made up of experts from both inside and outside the sport, and asked questions on a range of criteria, including the skills needed to be an Athlete Commissioner In addition, an English-speaking judge assessed the athletes’ foreign language skills Other criteria included Olympic experience and performance, international activities and recognition, and candidate suitability The candidates were all nervous. Kim had recently canceled a scheduled broadcast appearance to focus on the interview, and spent the morning at her agency’s office preparing answers to anticipated questions Jin Jong-oh, who tried out for the athletes’ commission eight years ago but was rejected due to low scores in foreign language proficiency, also said he had been studying conversational English with a tutor The NOC will shortlist two candidates based on the results of the interviews and then decide on one finalist at an 11 a.m. meeting on Thursday The Athletes’ Commission will then vote on the final candidate on the 16th and 17th, and the IOC will notify the 스포츠토토링크 IOC of the final candidate in the last week of the month In the interest of fairness, the IOC has not disclosed the names of the interview panel The council is chaired by former KOC president Kim Jong-gil and consists of nine members, including Park Yong-sung, former KOC president Kim Jung-haeng, former KOC president Lee Kang-doo, former KOC president Seo Sang-ki, former KOC vice president Jang Chung-sik, former KOC vice president Yoon Se-young, former KOC president Yun Yun-bang, Kwon Yun-bang, professor emeritus of physical education at Seoul National University, and Cheon Shin-il, chairman of Sejong Representing the Republic of Korea are Lee Ki-heung, president of the Korean Olympic Committee, and Yoo Seung-min, a member of the IOCSeung-min Yoo, a former gold medalist in the men’s singles table tennis event at the 2004 Athens Olympics, was elected during the Athletes’ Commission elections held during the Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympic Games and will complete his eight-year term at the end of the 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris Athletes’ Commissioners enjoy all the same rights as regular IOC members, including voting on the selection of Olympic venues.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *