Gyeongbuk High School wins Cheongryonggi High School baseball title for the first time in 30 years

Kyungpook National High School Baseball Team tops the 78th Cheongryonggi National High School Baseball Tournament.

Kyungpook National University has embraced the Cheongryonggi for the first time since the Lee Seung-yup era.

Kyungpook National University defeated Mulgeumgo 4-1 in the final of the 78th Cheongryonggi National High School Baseball Tournament and Weekend League Wangjungwang Game at Mokdong Baseball Stadium in Seoul on Sunday.

It’s been 30 years since Gyeongbuk High won the Cheongryonggi title since 1993, when Lee Seung-yeop, 47, the current manager of Doosan in the Korean Baseball Organization, was a sophomore.

Lee’s teammate, Gyeongbuk coach Lee Jun-ho, was also a member of the 1993 championship team.

Gyeongsangbuk-do was the winningest team in the Cheongryonggi era (seven titles) as of that year when Lee won the Outstanding Pitcher Award, but it hasn’t won another title in 30 years, passing the title to Gyeongnam (nine).

In terms of the four major tournaments (Golden Lion, Cheongryonggi, Presidential Ship, and Bonghwanggi), Kyungpook National University won the national championship for the first time in eight years since the 2015 Bonghwanggi.

Jeon Mir, 18, known as “Ohtani of Gyeongbuk High School” for his two-hit performance, was unable to take the mound that day due to pitch count restrictions.

However, he was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) after batting fourth and hitting a two-run double with runners on second and third in the bottom of the first inning.

Lee, 18, who started on the mound in the final, pitched seven scoreless innings to earn the Most Valuable Pitcher award, 고스톱 which Lee won 30 years ago.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *